DSD Special Session


This session focuses on tools, techniques and architectures for security and privacy-aware design of Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS). Such systems are characterized by periodic/event-driven communication between physical processes and control law computation. Such computations mostly happen on resource constrained embedded platforms, e.g. automotive ECUs, industrial PLCs etc. Given the nature of such implementation platforms along with communication bandwidth constraints, the aspect of security and privacy is often an afterthought in standard CPS design techniques. However, most CPS applications are safety critical in nature thus mandating primitives for securing possible attack surfaces against leakage of system related information as well as private data of system users. Leakage of system dynamics can help an attacker craft suitable stealthy attacks while leakage of user data may lead to user identification. Also, such leakages may lead to more damaging higher order attacks.


The topics of interest for this session include, but does not limit itself to the following research aspects:


Design and Validation Strategies:

  • Formalizing CPS threat models and attack scenarios
  • Formal verification of CPS security primitives (Transportation/Medical/Industrial-control, Power system and other domains)
  • AI/ML based and formal techniques for attack detection in CPS
  • Security aware controller design for CPS, Secure state estimation for CPS
  • Design exploration of secure CPS (area, power, performance, security)


  • Securing automotive control loops with control theoretic techniques
  • Security aspects of safety-critical CPS and automotive networks (intra and inter vehicle)
  • Protection against sensor attacks in CPS (e.g., autonomous driving, process control)
  • Securing industrial control systems, automotive ECUs, etc
  • Privacy-aware metering schemes and control design for Smart Grids


Special Session Chairs

Important Dates

Submission Guidelines

Technical Program Committee

  • Urbi Chatterjee, IIT Kanpur
  • Anupam Chattopadhyay, Nanyang Technological University
  • Soumyajit Dey, IIT Kharagpur
  • Sumana Ghosh, Indian Statistical Institute
  • Mohammad Hamad, TUM
  • Fabiano Hessel, PUCRS
  • Thomas Hollstein, Tallinn University of Technology
  • Michail Maniatakos, New York University
  • Mainack Mondal, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
  • Sangyoung Park, Technical Univeristy Berlin
  • Francesco Regazzoni, University of Amsterdam and Università della Svizzera italiana
  • Johanna Sepúlveda, Airbus Defence and Space GmbH
  • Nicolas Sklavos, University of Patras
  • Eugenio Villar, U. of Cantabria