DSD Special Session


The scope of this special session is on all views of hardware-oriented security. The session provides an excellent opportunity to present new results from both the research and industry communities. Of special interests are contributions that describe new methods for secure-and-efficient hardware implementations for embedded systems, hardware Trojans – insertion/detection methodologies, side channel analysis, fault attacks, security of Industrial Internet of Things, security of IoT etc.


The topics of this special session include but are not limited to:

  • Applications of secure hardware
  • Attacks against hardware implementations and countermeasures
  • Hardware Trojans and detection techniques
  • IC Trust and anti-Counterfeiting
  • Reverse engineering and hardware obfuscation
  • Hardware security primitives: PUFs and TRNGs
  • Security architectures in Embedded Systems
  • Protection of Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT)
  • Protection of Internet of Things (IoT)
  • Crypto implementations in area constrained environments
  • Processors for smart card security
  • Secure life cycle management
  • Energy-aware secure architectures
  • Security architectures for pervasive computing and wireless applications/protocols
  • Trusted computing platforms
  • Secure System-on-Chip (SoC) designs
  • Lightweight cryptography and implementations
  • Vehicular security hardware implementations
  • Hardware architectures for cryptanalysis
  • Reconfigurable cryptographic primitives
  • Performance evaluation of secure hardware

Special Session Chairs

Important Dates

Submission Guidelines

Technical Program Committee

  • Giovanni Agosta, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Aydin Aysu, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Luca Cassano, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Avik Chakraborti, NTT Secure Platform Laboratories, Japan
  • Rajat Subhra Chakraborty, Indian Inst. of Tech. Kharagpur, India
  • Ray Cheung, City University of Hong Kong, HK
  • Zoya Dyka, IHP – Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik, Germany
  • Jacques Fournier, CEA Leti, France
  • Apostolos Fournaris, Industrial Systems Institute/RC Athina, Greece
  • Elif Bilge Kavun, University of Passau, Germany
  • Odysseas Koufopavlou, University of Patras, Greece
  • Ulrich Kühne, Telecom ParisTech, France
  • Francesco Leporati, University of Pavia, Italy
  • Robert Lorencz, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Vojtěch Miškovský, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Martin Novotny, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Thanos Papadimitriou, University of the Peloponnese, Greece
  • Gerardo Pelosi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Thomas Plos, NXP Semiconductors, Austria
  • Miguel Morales-Sandoval, INAOE, Mexico
  • Fabrizio De Santis, SIEMENS AG, Germany
  • Georgios Selimis, AXELERA, The Netherlands
  • Nicolas Sklavos, University of Patras, Greece
  • Sergei Skorobogatov, University of Cambridge, UK